Nebraska Tax Liens

Sale Type: Tax Lien
 Interest Rate: 14% per year
 Bid Method: Rotational
 Redemption Period: 3 Years
 Sale Date(s): First Monday in March
 State Statute(s): Chapter 77
 Over-the-Counter: Yes
 State Website:

Nebraska State Overview

Nebraska counties hold their tax lien auctions annually on the first Monday of March. These tax sales are usually directed by the treasurer at the county courthouse or similar facility. Nebraska counties also work similarly to Iowa counties when it comes to the bid method. According to state law they have a “bid down the ownership” method; however, many of the counties choose to do a random selection or rotational method.

In Nebraska, county treasurer’s and tax collector’s sell tax lien certificates to the winning bidder at the delinquent property tax sale.

  • Tax Sale Type: Tax Lien Certificate. (Sec. 77-1818).
  • Contact: The County Treasurer. (Sec. 77-1802).
  • Interest Rate and/or Penalty Rate: 14% per annum. (Sec. 77-1824 and Sec. 45-104.01 ).
  • Bid Procedure: Bid down ownership interest. (Sec. 77-1807).
  • Redemption Period: Three (3) years. (Sec. 77-1837).
  • Law: Nebraska Revised Statutes, Chapter 77, Article 18, “Collection of Delinquent Real Estate Taxes by Sale of Real Estate,” and Article 19 “Collection of Delinquent Real Estate Taxes Through Court Proceedings.”
  • Life of a lien for this state is 3 years and 9 months.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *